EAM BDP 2017 Prizes

The 2017 Jury members were:

ACE representative Arch. Luciano LAZZARI, president ACE and jury president
EAAE representative Prof.Arch. Karl Otto ELLEFSEN
UAUIM representative Prof.Ph.D.Arch. Marian MOICEANU, rector UAUIM
and architectural profession representatives:
jury member Arch. Boris Koružnjak
jury member Arch. Rudolf Wienands

Read the jury report: EAM-BDP-2017-Jury-Report.pdf

The 2017 winning entries are:

European Architectural Medal for Best Diploma Project:

Negotiating the edge

by Andreas Prokopiou

from University of Nicosia, Department of Architecture, Cyprus

ACE Prize for Societal Impact:


by Jonas Albæk Christensen

from Faculty of Architecture and Design, NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

EAAE Prize for Intensity and Courage in Problem Solving:

Biological Research Platform_Bicaz Lake

by Andreea Irimia

from “Ion Mincu” University of Architecture and Urbanism (UAUIM), Romania

UAUIM Prize for the Artistic Quality:


by Irene Campo

from Universidad Politecnica di Madrid, Spain

Honourable Mention:

Benevolent Scarring: An exercise of social and physical palimpsest within a complex urban fabric.

by Sean Murphy

from School of Architecture, University of Limerick (SAUL), Ireland

Honourable Mention:

Supported transitional housing, Drogheda

by Deepka Abbi

from Dublin School of Architecture, DIT, Ireland

Honourable Mention:

ASYLUM, Scottish Youth Parliament & Ministry of Education

by Paschalis Kyrtsopoulos

from University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Honourable Mention:

Powerful Spaces – Precisions on a present system

by Diogo Veiga

from Faculty of Architecture of the University of Porto (FAUP), Portugal